Press Release – Federation Cup Kabaddi Tournament to Bring Colors To Mumbai

The Mumbai Upanagar Kabaddi Association will host the Kabaddi Federation Cup Tournaments this year on behalf of the Amateur Kabaddi Federation of India and Maharashtra State Kabaddi Association.

The Tournament will be held from February 9, 2018, to February 12, 2018, in the evenings from 6 pm to 10 pm at the SRP Grounds, Western Express Highway, Jogeshwari East, Mumbai under the name of “Proven Kabaddi”.

With a capacity of 5000 spectators, the venue has been created using advanced technology and systems, thus making it a grand “Kabaddi Village”. Matches will be held simultaneously and they will be played under floodlights on 2 synthetic mats of 13×10 meters each.

The quarter-finalists of National Kabaddi Tournament, Hyderabad will compete for the trophy. 8 teams playing in the men’s category will be battling for the Final round from the Armed Services, Railways and the states of Maharashtra, Karnataka, Uttarakhand, Rajasthan, Haryana and Uttar Pradesh and 8 teams playing in the women’s category will be from the Railways and the states of Maharashtra, Himachal Pradesh, Punjab, Haryana, Uttar Pradesh, Kerala and Chhattisgarh.

This Tournament organized by Mumbai Upanagar Kabaddi Association will be inaugurated by Shiv Sena Chief Uddhav Thackeray. Minister of State Shri Ravindra Waikar will be the Welcome President for tournament and will be attended by Shri Janardan Singh Gehlot (President of International Kabaddi Association), Dr. Mrs. Mridul Bhadauria (President of Amateur Kabaddi Federation of India), Shri Dinesh Patel (General Secretary of Amateur Kabaddi Federation of India) Prof. Kishor Patil (President of Maharashtra State Kabaddi Association), Dr. Datta Pathrikar, (Chairman of Maharashtra State Kabaddi Association), Adv. Aswad Patil (General Secretary Maharashtra State Kabaddi Association), Principal Vishwanath Mahadeshwar (Mayor of Mumbai), Shiv Sena Leaders namely Manohar Joshi, Sudhir Joshi, Leeladhar Dake, Shri Ramdas Kadam (Cabinet Minister of Environment) and Member of Parliament Shri Sanjay Raut.

Accommodation and transportation have been organized for all players, referees, team managers, officials and all chief guests attending the tournament by Mumbai Upanagar Kabaddi Association. They have also ensured that nutritious food will be provided to all the players and guests. Adequate arrangements have been made for their comfort including first aids and standby ambulances.

The event will be covered on a daily basis by major editorials. There will also be live coverage of the event through social media channels.

Electronic scoreboards, giving living updates to the players and spectators has also be installed. Reputed Kabaddi national players, Shri Rana Pratap Tiwari, Shri Kishor Gawde and Shri Bhai Parab will be the commentators for the tournament. Special enclosures have been provided for all Chhatrapati, Arjuna awardees, Tournament officials and Press.

The National Kabaddi Tournament winners-Maharashtra Men’s Kabaddi Team with Caption Rishank Dewadiga, Ms. Abhilasha Mhatre, Captain of Indian Women Kabaddi Team who led the Indian team to beat Iran at the 17th Asian Games, Ms. Sayali Jadhav, Captain of Maharashtra Women Kabaddi Team and Mrs. Arti Bari, Kabaddi Referee of international repute along with all Chhatrapati and Arjuna awardees will be felicitated by the organizers, winners and runner-up teams of the Federation Cup Tournament will be rewarded by cash prizes, as informed by Mumbai Upanagar Kabaddi Association President, Shri Gajanan Kirtikar.

Mumbai Upanagar Kabaddi Association will be hosting this tournament for the first time and it will spare no efforts to make this event attractive, successful and memorable. The initiative is being personally led by Shiv Sena Leader and Member of Parliament Shri Gajanan Kirtikar, Vice President Shri Gurunath Khot, Shri Datta Dalvi, Shri Pratap Rao Shinde, Chairman Shri Sudhakar Ghag, Deputy Chairman Shri Pandurang Parte, Shri Pravin Sawant, General Secretary Shri Ramesh Hariyan,  Treasurer Shri Suhas Kadam, Dy. Treasurer Shri Mangesh Gurav, along with Mrs. Manish Rane, Shri Sandeep Sawant, Shri Prasad Joshi, Shri Sharad Rane, Shri Nitin Save, Shri Sandeep Kanse, Shri Sanjay Kemble, Shri Harishchandra Vishwasrao, Shri Amit Chivilkar, Shri Gaurav Kalamkar have been working tirelessly to ensure that Mumbai witnesses a world-class event.

No event of such a scale can be complete without the support and sponsorship made available. The Association President, Shri Gajanan Kirtikar is personally thankful to Kokuyo Camlin, Cello Plastics, IRB, K-Lounge, LIC, Mahindra Rise, NESCO, Radius, Saraswat Bank, ICICI Bank, Cello World, S.D. Corporation, Syska LED whose co-operation has made this event a reality.

The prize distribution and closing ceremony will be held in the presence of Shiv Sena Leader and Yuva Sena Chief Shri Aaditya Thackeray, Ex-Deputy Chief Minister Shri Ajit Pawar, Minister for Education-Sports and Youth welfare Shri Vinod Tawde Also attending the ceremony as chief guests will be Shiv Sena Leader and Minister of Industries Shri Subhash Desai, Minister of Transport Shri Diwakar Raote, Central Minister Shri Anant Geete, PWD Minister Shri Eknath Shinde, Shiv Sena Leader and Member of Parliament Shri Anandrao Adsul and Shiv Sena Leader and Member of Parliament Shri Chandrakant Khaire.

Shri Gajanan Kirtikar also mentioned the tournament has been organized at par with international level and we are committed to making a grand success. We shall spare no efforts in our hospitality towards the players and other dignitaries. He is confident that Kabaddi as a sport will get enough support and fame as the game of cricket in this country.